5 Players Who Have Won The OHL's Red Tilson Trophy More Than Once

The Red Tilson Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Player in the Ontario Hockey League. Only on five occasions in the the history of the award has a player won the Red Tilson twice during his OHL career.

Since the 1944-45 season, The Red Tilson Trophy has been awarded to the most outstanding player in the Ontario Hockey League (called the Ontario Hockey Association previous to the 1980-81 season). In that time, only five players have been awarded the Tilson Trophy twice. All of these five players were awarded the trophy in consecutive seasons.

The first of these unique players was Andre Lacroix of the Peterborough Petes. Lacroix won the Red Tilson in 1964-65 then again in 1965-66. In 1965-66, Andre was also awarded the Eddie Powers Trophy as the league’s leading point-getter. Lacroix went on to an NHL career with the Philadelphia Flyers, Chicago Blackhawks and Hartford Whalers. He will best be known as the World Hockey Association’s all-time leader in games played, assists and points.

It took until the beginning of the 1990’s for another player to win the award twice. Eric Lindros of the Oshawa Generals did it in 1990-91 and 1991-92. Lindros went on to a great career in the NHL with the Philadelphia Flyers, New York Rangers, Toronto Maple Leafs and Dallas Stars. Unfortunately, his NHL career was plagued with injuries which ultimately forced him to retire without becoming the superstar he was meant to be.

Alyn McCauley next won two Red Tilson Trophies in a row with the Ottawa 67’s during the 1995-96 and 1996-97 seasons. McCauley had a somewhat disappointing NHL career with the Toronto Maple Leafs, San Jose Sharks and Los Angeles Kings. McCauley never reached his true potential as, just like Lindros, his career was plagued by injuries right from the beginning.

The new millennium brought the next two-time winner. Brad Boyes of the Erie Otters won the Red Tilson Trophy in 2000-01 and again in 2001-02. Originally a first round draft pick of the Toronto Maple Leafs, Boyes has played in the NHL with the San Jose Sharks and Boston Bruins. He is currently in his fifth season with the St. Louis Blues.

Directly following Brad’s two Red Tilson Trophy seasons, Corey Locke of the Ottawa 67’s did it again. Locke won the award in 2002-03 and 2003-04. Despite his junior success, Corey has appeared in just four NHL regular season games to date, one with the Montreal Canadiens and three with the New York Rangers. Locke is currently in the Ottawa Senators system, playing for their American Hockey League affiliate, the Binghamton Senators.

Will there be another two-time Red Tilson Trophy winner in the Ontario Hockey League? It certainly takes a special player to do accomplish this. The maximum length of an OHL playing career is just five seasons. The best players are usually drafted early and maybe play two to four years. It’s certainly possible we’ll see another two-time winner in the future but the odds can be strongly stacked against it.


Add a comment

0 answers +0 votes
Post comment Cancel